rhys(es pieces) is born

It seemed very appropriate to launch the new Newfangled Housewife site with a birth story. As a quick intro, I’ve decided to move the blog that once was through blogspot to a new location! Very excited to get back into sharing things from our little corner of the world through the inter webs again. I hope you enjoy!

18622378_10158808753725397_4414118442294998523_nMy third beautiful boy was born on May 25th, four weeks before his due date! Here’s kinda how it went down:

  • I was feeling sick and tired and run down on May 24th. Then, magically, the next day I felt so energized- making a to-do list of stuff to prep for baby, staying positive, and I got our 2YO, Levi, down for a nap.
  • As I was getting up from putting Levi (known as Mouse) down for his lap, I felt an odd sensation and ran to the bathroom. No contractions, no nothing- but I had experienced the same thing with Michael. My water broke!
  • To quote my husband: “I hope you don’t go into labor this week when I’m on a tower or something.” So, of course, it happened that way. I called him and this is how I went.

“I think my water just broke.”

Hubs, known as Superman, panicked voice: “Are you sure?”

Believe it or not, I did not roll my eyes.

I then spent some time running around getting together night bags for everyone: kiddos, hubs, myself. Nothing was prepped because I thought we had at least two weeks before this happened. Oops!

Thankfully, our friends were prepped and ready to have two extra guests. After driving myself (with a towel underneath me- tmi?) and two boys to our friend’s house (through a dust storm, I might add), which is between us and the hospital and Superman met us there- we were finally on our way to the hospital.

I got check in to the hospital around 5pm and was given pitocin. Around 8pm or so I was finally consenting to getting an epidural because OH MY GOSH THE CONTRACTIONS. But as I was getting cleaned and nearly poked, I felt like it was time.

I jumped from 5cm to 10cm like THAT ::snaps fingers::.

So, I pushed. And out came baby Rhys. Just like THAT. (Ha. Yeah, right!)

Rhys was born at 8:45pm and was 6lbs 13oz and 20.25 inches long.

DSC_0015

Amazing things about our baby bird:

  • He was born with a full head of hair… that is now falling out! When Rhys came out with all his dark feathers we were shocked! His brothers are so blonde, but we have dark hair in the family so we were taking bets on if it would fall out or not! Well, I won! He’s definitely malting, and we can see the blonde growing in underneath.

18740161_10158819678420397_6221415145794303389_n

  • He is a “good sleeper.” Maybe I’m jinxing it, but on his “good days” he takes naps that stretch from one to three hours. It’s glorious after having two boys who have boycotted sleep since birth (for the most part).

 

  • Why so serious? We aren’t sure! Maybe it’s a third-boy thing. He needs to be calm to balance out the storm that is his older brothers! Whatever it is, as much as he smiles, coos, and has started laughing- this little guy always looks like he has serious thoughts running through his head.

18839343_10158869077830397_80925785577249166_n

  • He’s our heaviest baby yet! I lovingly call him chub-a-wub because I have never had a baby with this many glorious rolls to cuddle and kiss. It’s so amazing to me that he went from having a hard time gaining weight to being our heaviest little guy yet. Fun fact: he’s already half, if not more by now, the weight of his middle brother.

18920686_10158861697485397_4052323710536231168_n

 

Leave a comment